Daytime seat belt enforcement initiative planned for Sept. 18
Police officers will enforce seat belts, child safety seats from 11 a.m. to noon
ARKANSAS CITY, Kan. (Sept. 14, 2020) — The Arkansas City Police Department will conduct a daytime seat belt enforcement initiative Sept. 18 to enforce seat belt use and other Kansas laws.
From 11 a.m. to noon Sept. 18, officers will check drivers of motor vehicles for seat belt compliance.
They also will check other occupants of vehicles for seat belt, lap belt and child restraint violations.
If officers observe other violations involving a certain vehicle, they may stop that vehicle and speak with the driver or occupants of that vehicle.
This daytime seat belt enforcement initiative is designed to encourage the use of seat belts and child restraints. Its goal is to increase motorist safety and overall seat belt usage with the City limits.
Almost half of those killed in crashes each year on Kansas roads are not belted in, according to the Kansas Department of Transportation. At the same time, 98 percent of crash occupants who suffer no injuries of any kind are belted in safely.
Law enforcement officers can stop vehicles and issue tickets when they observe front-seat occupants or children younger than 14 years old who are riding without proper restraint.
Children aged 4 through 7 must be belted securely into an approved booster seat, unless they are taller than 4 feet, 9 inches or heavier than 80 pounds. Children aged 8 through 13 must be safety-belted.
In addition, the Child Passenger Safety Act prohibits children younger than 14 from riding in any part of a vehicle not intended for carrying passengers, such as a pickup truck bed.